Dinosaurs & Vampires


Nostalgia is a curious thing. As a writer, I draw on a lot of different sources for inspiration, but I think my greatest stories have their roots in my childhood love of science fiction.

We grow up all too fast, and not just physically. Mentally, we’re too keen to leave behind our childhood and be adults, and there’s merit in that, and yet there’s also a degree of sorrow in that our innocence and childlike excitement is often lost. I find it fascinating that scientists like Carl Sagan never lost their curiosity and childlike desire for exploring the unknown.

carl-sagan-drawing-interstellar-flight-e1495395303360

Carl Sagan‘s imagination as a child was echoed in his love for science as an adult

The first novel I read from cover to cover was Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I forget how I stumbled across a copy, but I was riveted. I had to keep reading. I had to know what would happen.

Dracula is not just a novel about vampires. It’s a story of courage against the unknown. It highlights the mental fatigue of mere mortals struggling against evil. Our heroes aren’t warriors—they’re no stronger, smarter or braver than anyone else, but they’re compelled to fight for what’s right. They’re doctors, lawyers, husbands, wives—and their exploits are written as journal entries, letters, and notes. For me, that’s what grounds Dracula as a story. It’s the rise of the new world of science fighting against the supernatural past.

When I began writing, roughly a decade ago, I knew I wanted to pen a story in homage to Dracula, but I waited, wanting to get the timing right, wanting to be sure I could do justice to the story, so I’m excited to announce the launch of Nosferatu.

maelstrom (1)

Another story I found fascinating as a child was Land of the Lost. Although it was a TV series, it managed to sustain a level of intrigue for several seasons. The story arc included dinosaurs and aliens, as a modern family was swept into a parallel world where primitive humanity struggled to survive.

land of lost

When Vanquish Motion Pictures asked me to write a pilot for possible development in TV or film, the brief was just a few line—The story should be set in China, and involve parallel worlds colliding, but to keep production costs down, it should be present day and avoid high tech worlds.

My mind immediately gravitated to Land of the Lost, but didn’t want to simply replicate the concept. I wanted to come up with an original take, but one that quietly paid homage to the TV shows I enjoyed in my youth. From there, Maelstrom took form.

maelstrom (wide)

These two stories couldn’t be more different, but they both share the same origin in my fascination with fiction as a child.

Unleash your childlike imagination with Maelstrom and Nosferatu, both of which are on sale for 99c.

books (lose yourself)

 

Leave a Reply

